Key to 2014 Draft and Future of the Raiders!

No Bullshit. Just Real Raiders Talk!

Key to 2014 Draft and Future of the Raiders!

Postby SoulPatrol » Wed Jan 01, 2014 7:26 pm

Happy new year!

I've been thinking a lot about the next year...what with all the bowl games and all. Mainly, the draft has really been on my mind. I have the answer, but will anyone listen? I believe most long time Raider fans have the answer, but given our current management and ownership, their recent record, I fear we are doomed for more sorrow, before much success.

You see, the secret to the NFL draft IMO is not about who scored the most TDs in college, who has the biggest arm or mobility, or what position is drafted. The key, like anything is finding real football players. What does that mean? Well, to me it means guys who sort of define themselves as football guys. Ask most people the question, "Who are you?" They'll answer not about who their inner person is, but what they do. "I am an engineer", "I am a bus driver", etc. What we need are guys, who in the depths of their mind love the game, who in the depths of their souls are football players. Guys like this, in any profession are tireless workers. More importantly, they are guys who will get it done at any cost. I believe they are guys who take complete and utter ownership of whatever is going on, and will not be stopped easily, or dissuaded from succeeding.

I put it to you that this is the reason why Peyton Manning became a HOFer, and Ryan Leaf went to the sidelines. This is why Jamarcus Russell became a punchline, and Joe Montana, or Rich Gannon became successful underdogs. These are guys like Jerry Rice, who couldn't stand being off the field so much so that he rushed his return back from what could have been a career ending injury for many. It is people like Jon Gruden, whose fake snarl around the football field made him a sensation and got him the name Chucky. Eventually, everyone realized that actually the snarl wasn't fake.